top of page
Search

Three Problems of Overworking


I wouldn't say I've had trouble resting, but I have often found myself feeling like I've done all I need to do for the day with time left over and still felt like I needed to keep working. This way of thinking is a performance based mindset.


If you are prone to overworking, (this can also be applied to mamahood if you're a SAHM) knowing the warning signs of a performance based mindset is super important. Listed below are three problems that someone like me has definitely dealt with when it comes to work, and we will look at verses to combat these with truth from God!

  1. Shame + Guilt - Isaiah 50:7, "But the Lord God helps me; therefore I have not been disgraced; therefore I have set my face like a flint, and I know that I shall not be put to shame."

  2. Feelings of inadequacy - 2 Corinthians 3:5, "Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God..."

  3. Pressure - 2 Corinthians 4:8, "...we are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not despairing;"


All the answers to all our problems really are found in the Word of God. It doesn't matter what we're struggling with, God has the answer.


The best way- and most common way I would say- that the Lord speaks to us is through His Word. There are many other ways the Lord gets His message across to us- through people, on jewelry, through an email or blog post, an audible voice, and more, but the primary way is His Word.


It's so easy for us now days to look up Scripture for anything we may be going through to find comfort in His promises.


Rest is crucial. Just as we are three-part beings, all three parts of us require rest: physical rest, mental rest, and spiritual rest. Being in God's Word brings spiritual rest and affects the other two parts of us, also.


Psalm 27:4 says, "One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in His temple.”


Reading God's Word brings peace. Prayer brings assurance. Praise brings victory!


Famous pastor Adrian Rogers said, “If the devil can’t make you bad, he’ll make you busy.” There's so much truth in that statement- when we're just busy due to performance based mindset, it takes away from time we could be spending resting with the Lord.


It's almost officially summer break for my almost 6-year-old! Time is fleeting, and we can all use a reminder to spend time with who matters most.


I'll be taking a break from weekly blogging for the summertime. I've really enjoyed writing every single week to share God's truth with you and to work on this beautiful skill of writing.


I will still be blogging but not holding myself to the weekly standard while Aubriana is out of school. So, this is definitely a timely word and just a talk soon.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận

Không thể tải bình luận
Có vẻ như đã có sự cố kỹ thuật. Hãy thử kết nối lại hoặc làm mới trang.
bottom of page